Desert Island Songs

As you know, Guide to Nothing took the day off yesterday in honor of Saint Sleep Day. Never heard of him? Me neither. 😛 So because of this, we have a special treat for you. It’s new. It’s exciting. It is a WEEKLY SoTD THEME.

New themes will be announced every Monday, but this week’s is getting 2 EXTRA DAYS because we are SO EXCITED ABOUT IT.

DESERT ISLAND SONGS – with a twist.

The generally acknowledged understanding of Desert Island Songs is that they are songs you would have to listen to forever. However after an absolutely traumatic hour of intense discussion, Magpie and I decided a) that this was too much pressure, and b) the likely result would be me hanging myself from a coconut tree to Vivaldi’s Four Seasons.

So the revised theme is – Desert Island SURVIVAL Songs. I.e. Songs for short term survival on a desert island.

A couple of things. First, we’re only getting 4 each here and while we’ve tried to be pretty serious in our selections, there are about 10 other songs we could just as easily have chosen*. Second, ‘desert island survival songs’ doesn’t mean ‘favourite songs’ or ‘best songs of all time’. And third, they are completely down to the personal tastes and opinions of the person choosing them.

*For example, Gymnopedie no. 1 would be in my list, but for the purposes of this blog it’s already been posted!
Songs are also in no particular order.

DESERT ISLAND SURVIVAL SONGS – PEACHY #1

WOODKID – IRON


I’ve been looking for a chance to bring up Woodkid since the day this blog was created… 😛 man I love Woodkid.

This song has survival written all over it. It has literally got me though some battling times. Picture this, the sea has just spewed you up,

“Deep in the ocean, dead and cast away
Where innocence is burned, in flames
A million mile from home, I’m walking ahead
I’m frozen to the bones, I am…”

This would be my pre-hunting anthem and general brood song. So I could sit under the palm tree staring out at the sea and feel badass, without thinking too much about my imminent death because i’m pumped with dismal badassery.

Yep, I would definitely need me some Woodkid to survive on a desert island…for a week or two, until the hypothetical situation ended.

Peachy x

4 thoughts on “Desert Island Songs

  1. Pingback: What do you mean, I’m stuck on an island? Will there be food? | guide to nothing

  2. Pingback: I’m sorry, Wilson | guide to nothing

  3. Pingback: Desert Island Whimsy | guide to nothing

Leave a Reply

