Hey, now.

My littlest brother (the cynical, hardcore one who removes his own stitches,) recently challenged me to name five internationally successful Australian bands/musical acts.

Number 1: Crowded House. Even though I think that Crowded House is kind of the ultimate Australian music trump card, I went on to name another four,* just in case he is one of the mistaken few who believe them to be from New Zealand (for my Kiwi friends: Sharing is caring. In my mind, they fill a niche called ‘New Auslanders,’ reserved for people of disputable trans-Tasman origin.)

So do yourselves a favour: Don’t dream it’s over.

Magpie
x

*The other four were, in no particular order; ACDC, Gotye, The Veronicas** and Olivia Newton-John. I threw in Air Supply for bonus points.

*At no point did he say that they had to be good.

Leave a Reply

